The Church of the Three Crosses

Aalto planned the church also for other activities in the parish besides services. Therefore the church can be divided into three parts. In the church there are seats for 800 persons. The windows and lightning are high up, which creates fascinating display of light and shadow. The Church of the Three Crosses was completed in 1957.

The stained glass on the ceiling is as old as the church and also designed by Alvar Aalto. (Textsource: Parish of Imatra)

Open: June–August Wed–Sun 10 am–6 pm, winter season Sat and Sun 9 am–3 pm.
Opens one hour before the occasions start.
For tourist groups, the church is open by reservation also during the week.
The Church of the Three Crosses
Ruokolahdentie 27
Tel. +358 (0)44 400 4200


Lake Saimaa, Purest Finland Regional Council of South Karelia Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment Rural 2020 The European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development: Europe investing in rural areas
The site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, see our Privacy Statement.